Run

I am a runner. For life. At least for the rest of mine.

No, I’m not that kind of runner. I’m not fast, I can’t run all day. I run like a turtle and take frequent walk breaks. One of my running partners calls it ‘interval training’. I like that, I’m an ‘interval’ runner

If a hill is coming, I have a goal – reach the top by any means possible. I do start running up said hill, but usually end up crawling walking to the top. The goal is still lame met.

I run and I breathe. I think real runners just breathe once, they certainly never pant like a dog me. I can’t breathe for most of my run, so I stop running frequently. When I can breathe again, I run again.

That is my running rule. Run till you can’t breathe or your leg falls off. Then walk. Don’t stop, keep going. Run when the breathing returns. Repeat. If my leg ever really falls off it’s come close, I’ll do my best to stick it back on and end my run early while I gimp back to the car. I promise.

I can’t talk and run very well. That is hard! It gets me to the no breathing very quickly! Real runners carry on conversations, even on the hills. But I will work on that skill more now that I have running partners.

I will be a runner for the rest of my life because I highly value the ability to walk. I’ve lost that ability before, just temporarily. It was long enough to learn to appreciate the simple gift of walking. I will never again take that for granted. I will loose that gift if I stop running because of a I am so hip issue. If I do not run, there is pain. If I continue with the not running, the pain becomes excruciating and wins. It becomes so intense that walking is no longer possible. If I run there is no pain. The math here is simple: run = no pain. No run= pain = loss of walking. I know it sounds wrong and odd but I’ve tested the theory and it’s true. At least for me and my body, it is a truth. So I will run for the rest of my days to hold onto the simple joy of walking for as long as I can.

I am a runner. Just not the real thing that kind.

Leave a Reply

